Before my last race I had already picked out my next challenge, the Trail Rail Run 50 miler! It will start in Mullan, Idaho and end in St. Regis Montana and is run on an old railroad bed. So it will be mostly or relatively flat for a 50 mile race. Which will be good for my first one.  It will be on June 22nd…so less than 3 months away! 

It has been about a month and a half since the Destin 50K. I spent about 4 weeks doing recovery runs and the last 2 weeks I began adding back speed and long run workouts. I’ve definitely felt rusty on my speed workouts so far, but that’s to be expected. But because of that I didnt know what to expect with my first race back.

This past weekend I did a local 5k with no idea what I wanted to do. Should it be an all out effort or just a tempo run? Even after the race started I didn’t know…haha!

 

mens5k2

warm up for the 5k

My first mile I went out hot. Too fast and faster than I wanted. At that point I was like, “hell might as well go all out and see what happens.” So that’s when I finally made my decision and scraped the idea of it being a temp run. The next mile was just about all up hill. A lot slower of a pace and it wiped me out. But the good news was that the last mile would be back down hill. My pace picked back up and I was able to finish strong.

running all out at the end

running all out at the end

I ended up running my 3rd fastest 5k. Which the times I ran faster were in the middle of my last training cycle. So for me to lay down that time on a hilly course and at the beginning of a new training cycle is awesome! I can’t wait to build up my endurance even more over the next few months to conquer my first 50 miler. I’m so ready for this.

